top of page

12.26.2018: One Lesson of Math - Solving Linear Inequalities in Two Variables, Part 3


Today's soundtrack is Metallica: Master of Puppets, an absolute unit of an album.

I still remember the first time I heard the title track on Vancouver's 104.9 Xfm (rip). The acoustic interlude blew my mind. I credit that song with my later love of prog metal.


This afternoon, I'm continuing to work on the assignment portion of the lesson on linear inequalities. Links to prior entries: Part 1, Part 2.


I figured out a new strategy to test my graphed solutions today. If I am given an equation to graph and then I am told to determine whether a certain set of coordinates resides within the solution, I can use substitution to test my solution like this:

  • Start with equation in slope intercept form (y = mx + b)

  • In my case, I converted 4x - y ≤ 5 to y ≥ 4x - 5

  • Substitute the coordinates into the equation

  • I was asked to find whether point B, (-1, 1) was part of the solution, so I substituted -1 for x and 1 for y, giving me 1 ≥ 4(-1) - 5

  • Calculate the equation and determine whether the statement is true

  • 1 ≥ 4(-1) - 5 works out to 1 ≥ -9; this statement is true, so point B is part of the solution!



And with that, I'm done this chapter. Up next: graphing quadratic inequalities in two variables. Should be fun!


bottom of page