top of page

04.14.2019: One Lesson of Math - Circular Functions, 4/10: Graphing the Sine and Cosine Functions


Today's soundtrack is The Tragically Hip: Music @ Work, a rock album by this Canadian band.


I accidentally spilled coffee on my textbook. Fortunately, I own this book, but I still drew an apology note for my teacher.

This afternoon, I'm learning how to graph the sine and cosine functions.


Sine and cosine functions go up and down in waves. In their most basic forms, sine functions start at (0, 0) and have a period (cycle of repetition) of 360° (2π), with an amplitude (maximum vertical distance from the graph's central axis, which in this case is y 0 [the x-axis]) of 1. Cosine functions start at (0, 1); their other properties are the same as those of the sine function.


Next time, we'll learn how to transform these trigonometric functions!


bottom of page