top of page

02.24.2019: One Lesson of Math - Practice Test


Today's soundtrack is Blind Guardian: Somewhere Far Beyond, the 1992 album by the German power metal masters. Everything they do is epic in the truest sense of the word.


After doing my unit review yesterday, I'm ready to do my unit practice test in preparation for my final test tomorrow. My method is to do the test onto a separate piece of paper, check my answers, review any concepts that I've misunderstood, then go back and try any wrong questions again, until I'm satisfied that I have a solid grasp of the material.


Take 1 notes:

Successful performance in identifying non-permissible values, simplifying by factoring, and solving equations. Need to work on adding and subtracting rational expressions, need to review word problems.


I spoke with my father-in-law (a math genius) to try to figure out what I was missing. We found that I'd missed an essential foundational piece of information: when multiplying and dividing rational expressions, we can cancel out terms both vertically and diagonally; however, when adding and subtracting rational expressions, we can only cancel out terms vertically! It finally makes sense. I'm as ready now for this test as I'll ever be!

bottom of page