top of page

01.11.2019: 30 Minutes of Songwriting - Special Edition: "I'm Floating"


Today's soundtrack is Dimmu Borgir: Puritanical Euphoric Misanthropia, an epic symphonic extreme blackened metal album.


Today, I put the finishing touches on my newest song, "I'm Floating," my homage to the MelodySheep song "A Glorious Dawn," one of my favourite songs of all time. Some might also notice a bit of a "My Bloody Valentine" vibe with the distorted reverb effect.


In the past, I used Windows Movie Maker to put together my songs with album art so that I could upload to YouTube, but I recently upgraded to Windows 10, and was surprised to learn that Windows Movie Maker had been discontinued. I tried some free programs that were touted as alternatives: OpenShot, Lightworks, and ShotCut - but all of them were way more program than what I needed. Then I found a thread online that suggested using the Windows 10 photo app. I gave it a try, and was blown away - it's super simple, and it did exactly what I need! I was also able to use it to add some fun special effects to the video. Here's the result:


bottom of page