top of page

01.06.2019: One Lesson of Math - Unit 5 Review, Part 2


Today's soundtrack is Linkin Park: Hybrid Theory, an album that brings me back to Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2, gel in my hair, baggy jeans, and skater shoes. It was a time of learning to play the guitar, of learning to drive, of writing love songs instead of breakup songs...


This morning, I'm continuing my review of Unit 5, and I'll be making notes of things that I need to remember.


When using a number to represent a single-variable quadratic inequality, we need to use an OPEN dot at the x-intercepts to indicate that the value is not part of the solution (< >), and we use a CLOSED dot at the x-intercepts to show that the value is part of the solution (≤ ≥). So if our lines have gaps, the circle will be just an outline; if the line is solid, the circle will also be solid.


If graphing a two-variable quadratic inequality, we must remember that when y > x² or y < -x², we will shade in the inside of the parabola; however, when y < x² or y > -x², we will shade the outside of the parabola. Check out this chart that I made for a visual:

And with that, this unit review is complete!

bottom of page