top of page

01.03.2019: One Lesson of Math - Solving Systems of Equations Algebraically, Part 3


Today's soundtrack is Bob Boilen: "Take It to Bed: Music for Clouds," a lush, meditative, ambient solo album by the founder and co-host of NPR's All Songs Considered, my favourite music podcast.


I'm continuing to work on the assignment portion of the lesson I did on solving systems of equations algebraically. Links to previous sections: Part 1, Part 2.


This morning, I got to try a fun word problem. Here it is:

"Two numbers are related. The first number minus 12 is equal to the second number. The square of the first number minus 30 times the second number is equal to 360.

Create a system of equations to represent this relationship, and solve the system to determine the numbers" (Pearson's Pre-Calculus 11, p. 398).


Here's how I solved it:

Here's a quick example of how I solved a quadratic-quadratic equation:

bottom of page