top of page

12.19.2018: One Lesson of Math - Solving Quadratic Inequalities in One Variable, Part 5


Today's soundtrack is Christmas With the Mills Family, a Spotify playlist that includes my favourite Christmas songs.


Now that I've finally got a handle on how quadratic inequalities work, I think I'll finally be able to start making some headway on this lesson. I don't think I've had any lessons until this point that have taken me so long to grasp. But this afternoon, I've been working on the assignment questions.


Here's the steps for solving quadratic inequalities in one variable:


  1. Find the x-intercepts

  2. Write down the answer

  3. If your equation positive and greater than zero, you'll have two solutions

  4. If your equation is negative and less than zero, you'll have two solutions

  5. If your equation is positive and less than zero, you'll have one solution

  6. If your equation is negative and more than zero, you'll have one solution


See my previous posts about this for further clarification. Links and a helpful chart are here.


bottom of page