top of page

08.20.2018: One Music Lesson


Today's soundtrack is Marcel Tyberg: Symphony No. 2, which is a gorgeous album composed by an Austrian man whose grandmother registered him as a Jew; he was killed in Nazi death camps (citation). This version of the recording was done by the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra.

This afternoon, I'm picking up where I left off on the free guitar lessons at justinguitar.com. Before I started this blog, I'd worked through his white section (he lays out his difficulty like the karate belts). Recording my most recent album made me realize that I really have a lot of opportunity to improve my guitar playing.

I'm starting the yellow section of the lessons today: "G7, C7, B7 Chords." I learned how to play G7: it looks a lot like a C, stretched out further. C7 is pretty straightforward too; it just adds the pinky to the fourth string on the third fret. B7 is a super bluesy chord; I like that one a lot. It isn't shaped like anything I've seen before. The next lesson was the "F Maj 7 Chord," an easier chord than F major. It's actually a chord that I've used in the past without realizing that it was a "real" chord! It's just like a C major, but with the second and third fingers on the third and fourth strings respectively, rather than the fourth and fifth. After I got that one, it was time for the next lesson, called "The A Chord Again...". In this lesson, Justin showed how to play the A chord with a mini barre chord, a useful skill for those with large hands. I don't personally find this way of playing the chord necessary; I've practiced the regular A chord enough that it would take more time for me to decide which one to use than it does for me to just play the regular chord every time.

bottom of page