top of page

07.02.2018: Learning to use the TI-83 Plus (Part 2)

Today's soundtrack is Morbid Angel: Kingdoms Disdained, which on its intro track has one of the cooler metal beats I've heard.

This morning, I'm going to continue learning how to use my TI-83 Plus, which I will be using in my pre-calculus class that I'm starting tomorrow.

According to the user manual, the Ti-83 Plus can be used to "solve for a variable in an equation" (p. 35). The equation solver is the "0" option under the "MATH" menu. It seems that this only approximates answers based on the user's guesses. I'll need to look further into this.

The rest of the information in the manual pertains to functions that I'm not yet at all familiar with (plotting data, calculating linear regressions, using the MATRIX editor, etc.).

Still, I feel like I've successfully familiarized myself with this calculator so that I will be able to navigate through its myriad buttons and features, even if I don't fully understand all of the capabilities that it has. But I'm sure that as I progress through my math courses, I'll be better able to understand the functions as I need them, since I'll have more context.


bottom of page