top of page

04.10.2018: One Lesson of Python

Today's soundtrack is Jacob 2-2: Herbivore.

I've finally made it through the tedious "Turtle Graphics" section in Coding Projects in Python; I've now made it to the "Playful Apps" section, which sounds much more interesting.

I get to start using Tkinter (Python's GUI) today; I'll be building a countdown calendar that will let users know how much longer remains until important dates.

I started by using Notepad to create and then open a .txt file; Python will reference this .txt file to find event dates. Next, I imported tkinter and datetime in Python, then set up a canvas for tkinter to draw the UI on. After that, I created a function to retrieve events from the events .txt file, then created another function that would subtract a future date from today's date, then give the answer.


bottom of page