top of page

03.05.2018: One Lesson of Blender

Today's soundtrack is Steve Winwood: Arc of a Diver.

I'm on Part 4: "Material Nodes" of Blender Guru's doughnut tutorial.

In this lesson, I learned how to use the "render" feature. Blender gives the option to render with different cycles and to put renders into different slots for comparison's sake, and they can be quickly toggled using the hotkey "J." "Cycles" render is more realistic, but takes longer to render.

I learned that I can hide objects by hitting "H," and I can show them again with "Alt+H."

I learned to use "smooth shading" in the left "tools" window to make things render smoothly. (Use "T" to toggle the toolbar).

Shift+Z can be used to quickly switch between render preview and regular view.

When choosing materials in "Cycles Render," different options come up than do in "Blender Render."

By clicking the white cube at the bottom-left of the screen, we can open the node editor, where we can combine diffuse and gloss to make materials react nicely with light. In the node editor, hitting Shift+A will allow us to add more material options. Add the "Mix Shader" under "shaders" to allow blending of more than one shader; with this, we can combine diffuse and glossy, a common setting.

I learned to open more than one workview at a time by dragging the three angled lines at the top-right of the screen, which is cool: I can have my node editor and my 3d view open at the same time!

I used the random proportional feature to make my icing "drip."

I finished up the lesson by making my donut glow with radioactivity, which was fun.


bottom of page