top of page

12.03.2018: One Lesson of Math - Equivalent Forms of a Quadratic Function, Assignment Portion


Today's soundtrack is King Crimson: In the Court of the Crimson King, an album that I appreciate all the more with the passing of time. The older I get, the more I've fallen in love with the sounds of the mellotron, and that instrument is used to great effect on this album.


This afternoon, I'm doing the assignment portion of the lesson on converting a quadratic function from the general form equation to the standard form equation by completing the square. The first two parts of this lesson can be found here: part 1, part 2.


For this assignment, I was asked practice the conversions, then to verify in various ways: algebraically (by using distributive properties to convert the standard form back into the expanded form), or by using a graphing calculator to graph each form of the equation; also, I was asked to identify various characteristics of the functions once I had converted them. It was a good way to solidify my understanding of the concept.

bottom of page